MSS #075: The Success Paradox: Are you too busy climbing, so you miss the view?

Your weekly Saturday Solace newsletter

15 June 24

MSS #075: MSS #075: The Success Paradox: Are you too busy climbing, so you miss the view?

15 June, 2024

đź•’Read time: 3.6 minutes

🚀In a hurry? Jump to “Building Habits to Savour the View” for a reduced reading time of 1.9 minutes.

Welcome back to Saturday Solace.

This week, we're venturing off the beaten path of self-discovery.

We're not necessarily aiming for a specific destination, but rather, focusing on appreciating the climb itself.

Let me reveal more.

Are you too exhausted and driven to enjoy the view?

Many of us, myself included (past tense), get caught up in the relentless pursuit of goals.

We strive to constantly challenge ourselves, improve, and achieve more.

It's a drive that can propel us forward, but it can also lead to burnout and a missed appreciation for the present moment.

Many years ago, I started thinking,

“I have spent so many years climbing the mountain, now I want to take a little time to enjoy the view!

 

The Power of the Pause

For years I was consumed with climbing the proverbial mountain. Driven by ambition, I relentlessly focused on reaching the next peak.

Someone once told me, "The journey is more important than the destination." At the time, I scoffed at the notion.

But then, a realisation struck. I wasn't stopping to enjoy the view – it passed me by.

So, I asked myself “what is the point of climbing the mountain?”

I am driven, not sure where it came from or what it is.

Partly deeply curious and an innate quest to understand what more is possible. Linked with a deep need for security.

This probably sums up being driven for me.

It dawned on me, if I don’t take time out to enjoy the view, then I am missing a big part of climbing life’s mountains.

I am not necessarily talking about the boom and bust of working so hard, I was desperate for a holiday and ending up working from holiday-to-holiday check point.

I am talking about enjoying the simple parts of climbing the mountain and at a regular pace.

If 95% of my time is spent climbing, then I am missing out on a huge amount of enjoyment potential.

 

Have You Stopped to Take in the Scenery?

Consider this: when was the last time you truly paused to appreciate your progress?

Are you so fixated on the next milestone that you miss the beauty of the current climb?

Here are some questions to ponder:

  • What keeps me constantly striving? Is it a genuine desire for growth, or am I driven by external pressures?

  • What am I missing by being so focused on the destination? Are there opportunities for learning and connection that I'm overlooking?

  • How would I feel if I achieved my ultimate goal? Would it bring lasting fulfilment, or would I simply set my sights on the next peak?

 

Building Habits to Savour the View

The good news is, we can cultivate the habit of enjoying the journey. Here are a few tips to incorporate into your routine, along with some ideas for putting them into practice:

  • Gratitude Practice:

Start each day by listing three things you're grateful for. This simple act refocuses your attention on the positive aspects of your life.

Action: Keep a dedicated gratitude journal or use a smartphone app. Write or record a short message each morning, reflecting on what you're thankful for.

  • Recognising "Enough":

Sometimes, the greatest challenge is acknowledging that you have enough. Instead of constantly seeking the next high, find contentment in what you've already achieved.

Action: Take stock of your recent accomplishments. Write them down or share them with a trusted friend or mentor. Reflect on the skills and perseverance it took to get there.

  • Reward Yourself:

Schedule time for activities you genuinely enjoy. It's not about extravagance, but about creating pockets of pleasure throughout your week.

Action: Block out specific time slots in your calendar for these activities. This could be anything from reading a book to taking a relaxing bath to spending time with loved ones.

  • Embrace New Experiences:

Plan something out of the ordinary, something that creates a lasting memory.

Action: Browse local event listings or explore online resources for unique experiences in your area. Step outside your comfort zone and try something new.

  • Celebrate the Small Wins:

Don't wait for the monumental achievements to pat yourself on the back. Acknowledge and celebrate the smaller milestones along the way.

Action: Track your progress towards your goals. Set smaller, achievable benchmarks and reward yourself for reaching them.

  • Savour the Journey with Loved Ones:

Share your experiences and accomplishments with the people who matter most. The joy of achievement is amplified when shared.

Action: Plan outings or activities with friends and family. Talk about your goals, challenges and celebrate each other's successes.

  • Book a Regular Treat:

Schedule time for something you genuinely look forward to, big or small.

Action: This could be anything from a weekend getaway to a weekly massage to indulging in your favourite dessert. The key is to prioritize something that brings you joy.

 

Celebrate other’s journeys.

Perhaps ask yourself,

“Is my relentless pursuit of climbing my mountain, denying me the opportunity of noticing others journeys around me?”

Noticing others journeys at work and home, is a great way of getting fulfilment and enjoyment and a great way of “taking a break” and refreshing from your own challenges.

 

What's Your View?

I invite you to reflect on your own journey. What will you incorporate into your routine to savour the view?

Perhaps it's starting a gratitude journal, taking a scenic hike, or simply indulging in a relaxing evening with loved ones.

Remember, the destination is important, but the journey itself holds immense value.

Slow down, take a breath, and enjoy the view.

 

See you next week for another dose of Saturday Solace!

In the meantime, feel free to share your thoughts in the comments below. What helps you appreciate the journey of self-discovery?

 

Summary

Drive and motivation are wonderful traits to enjoy.

Remind yourself the journey lasts considerably longer than the fleeting moment of arriving at the destination, with the inevitability of setting a new destination straight away.

Decide how you will start enjoying the view more often and build from there.

Think about enjoying others journeys as well as yours.

See you next week. One more thought 👇

Want more? 

When you're ready, 3 more ways I can help you:

1. My book - Nuclear Powered Resilience

2. Self confidence and resilience - ÂŁ48 training course based on my book

3. Coaching packages - start with a FREE 15 minutes exploration session.

Other resources

If you haven't already, follow me on LinkedIn and hit the bell for daily posts on tips, insights and techniques or take a look at my website.

Want to explore what else I do? Including corporate speaking, coaching and workshops, or simply ask me a question or give me feedback on my newsletter - say hello in an email.

That's it for this week. Thanks for reading, really hope this helped. Contact me if you think I can help you further at [email protected].

Happy thinking.