MSS #038: How I doubled my rate of closing old boring actions.

Your weekly Saturday Solace newsletter

MSS #038: How I doubled my rate of closing boring actions.

30 September 23

MSS #038: How I doubled my rate of closing old boring actions.

30 September, 2023

Read time: 1.7 minutes

In a hurry? Cut straight to the Apply this to your to do list. chapter. - reduced read time 0.8 minutes.

Some tasks are just boring and uninspiring – but they need to get done.

If you can delegate or outsource these, brilliant! If not what do you do to increase your completion rate?

Use psychology to help you.

Use the “because” technique and smooth the path to doubling your completion rate with a lot more gusto.

Ready to learn because it will make your life much better?

Crack on then.

How I doubled my rate of closing old boring actions. You can x2.

What could it do for you?

Is this you?

· Do you hate to-do lists? 😠

· Overwhelmed by endless unfinished tasks? 😩

· Stubborn tasks hanging around like a bad smell?

· Do you dream of a better way? That makes you want to complete those tasks?

· To enjoy the task, stay motivated and productive? 😍

 

Then I have a simple trick to change your life. 🙌

Called the "because" method. 🤔

 

What’s included.

1. Background; why it works

2. Queueing example

3. How to apply “because” technique for to-do lists

What could this do for you?

First some background…

👉Harvard Professor Ellen Langer experiments.

👉Showed people 55% more likely to agree.

👉To statements that have a "because“ plus a reason.

👉When bumping up in a queue.

 

Scenario – you are in a queue…

📌You want to go ahead of the person in front of you.

📌2 ways of asking to jump the queue…..

1."Excuse me, can I go before you, because I have an appointment. “

2."Excuse me, can I go before you please. “

 

Result….

Option 1. 55% more successful than 2.

Simply having a reason stated in the bit after “because” resulted in a 55% increase in success rate.

Almost regardless of the reason!

 

Apply this to your to do list.

All you have to do is,

write down the reason why you are doing each task, after the word "because".

✍️

Examples:

Call John because he is a potential client and I want to close the deal. ☎️

Write a blog post because it will boost my online presence and attract more leads. 🖥️

Go for a run because it will make me feel good and improve my health. 🏃‍♂️

 

This simple technique will help you focus on the benefit of each task, rather than the effort or perceived difficulty. 😊

Also, anticipation releases Dopamine, helping motivation.

Some people think you get a Dopamine hit on completion of a task – wrong. Its ANTICIPATION = Dopamine

Next time you make a to-do list, try adding the word "because" to each task. with an explanation of why, you should complete it.

See how it boosts your motivation and performance.

You'll be amazed by the results. 😎

I know it sounds simple.

BUT it works, due to:-

· Psychology

· Connecting you to a Why

· Anticipation = Dopamine

You can even do the “because” part in your head.

Summary

Quick recap.

1. Science shows

RESULTS OF USING “because”

2. Connecting to a reason is powerful.

3. Anticipation of success releases Dopamine which helps motivation.

4. It’s so simple to do.

See you next week. If you haven't already, follow me on LinkedIn and hit the bell for daily posts on tips, insights and techniques.

Want more? 

When you're ready, 3 ways I can help you:

1. Build self confidence and resilience fast - £48 training course

Golden Resilience Habit

2. Work with me 121 - start with a FREE 15 minutes exploration session.

Lets have an open chat and explore how I can help you and what is troubling you.

If we both think we can work together and I have what you need we can go from there.

3. Workshops and Speaking - I run workshops and speak. Book me to help your team increase their productivity.

Nuclear Powered Resilience – learn one golden habit that gives incredible inner strength, comfort and support, that keeps growing by instilling Unconditional Love in your mind.

7 guiding principles to better thinking – what trips up our thinking and how to create different habitual responses.

What they should have taught you at school – awareness of how we think and how to get better results.

Vitamin C for the mind – how to feel and have more control in life, with simple techniques built into a habit.

Happy habits – simple habits to make you feel happier everyday.

That's it for this week. Thanks for reading, really hope this helped. Contact me if you think I can help you further at [email protected].

Happy thinking.